Groups

Learn about groups and how to access the Groups page.

About groups

A group represents a set of users who have the same roles and permissions. Groups are used to manage the permissions of multiple users at once, instead of at the individual user level.

In the Marketplace Platform, users can be part of different groups within the same account, such as the Administrator and Finance groups. They can also have roles in multiple accounts with varied permissions, for instance, being an Operations user in one account and an Administrator in another.

The following are some of the key points about groups:

  • Only account administrators can create new groups, edit group information, manage users within a group, and delete groups.

  • Users must belong to an account before an administrator can add them to a group. If the individual doesn't belong to an account, their access to platform features and modules is restricted.

  • Users can belong to several accounts and have different permissions in each account, based on the groups they are part of in each account.

How to access the Groups page

As an account administrator, you can access the Groups page by navigating to the main menu and selecting Settings > Groups.

From the Groups page, you can:

  • Create new groups and add members to those groups.

  • View all groups that exist for your account.

  • Edit a group's information.

  • Delete a group permanently if it's no longer needed.

Last updated

SoftwareOne is a trademark of SoftwareOne, Inc. "The Software Licensing Experts" is a service mark of SoftwareOne, Inc. VAR assist is a trademark of SoftwareOne, Inc. "It pays to partner" is a service mark of SoftwareOne, Incorporated.